Writing practice

Well the new year is fast approaching, I wonder what some of you are planning. As for myself, it seems since I started this blog my submissions have been far and few between. I must admit that since I have become a papa, that finding time on the computer is hard to do.

But my resolution for 2009 is to write more, and research as well and to update this blog as much as possible. I think of it as a window to my teaching and linguistics practice.

What was good about being a graduate student at  Temple University Japan was that it encouraged me to write more often, and think about my presentation. Since graduating I have “fallen off the wagon” sort of speak, and realize that just writing is a vital practice for me both personally and professionally.

My brother Joey, is a fine example of this. His practice is writing as well: poems, commentary, prose. For my own blogging it must reflect my need to get my ideas out there, possibly get some feedback. It takes some bravery too, since you are essentially submitting something for public scrutiny.

Posting articles, research is a vital practice as well, but what one friend said, if the journal/site is peer reviewed, this adds more credibility to your research than just posting on the web.

Frankly, I like the appeal of publishing on the web, for it allows for a great deal of freedom. This broad kind of appeal can be seen with the creation of such sites as Google Docs https://www.google.com/ and Scribd http://www.scribd.com/

So this is what I need to do, to focus and write on here, keep the fire burning. I will also try to do some presentations at some conferences this year, so that will keep me occupied as well.

Happy New Year and Happy blogging!

Leave a Reply

