The “March” of Time….. and a new academic year “Springs” into action!

For those who live outside of Japan, one thing I would like you to know is that we start the new year in the Spring. In fact not only school but anyone starting a new job usually gets under way from April 1st. Everyone’s life seems to restart in April, just in time for the cherry blossoms…..There is talk about changing over to starting in September like the rest of the world, but if we did that the symbolism would be lost…

So much for poetry…. on with the nitty gritty…

I will be moving on from Rikkyo University to be to serve as a trainer for teacher development in Kanagawa prefecture to teach elementary, junior high and high school teachers language teaching techniques and cultural awareness.

It is a fresh start for me, and one that has a lot of potential and a lot of challenges too. Where can I take my research from here?

At Rikkyo the concepts of  fluency development, vocabulary and syntactic priming, vocabulary development, and using data visualisation became part of my research and teaching practice. Even though we had a very specific teaching approach, I felt Rikkyo supported me in my research interests and will always feel a great deal of gratitude for the Discussion Center and the staff there. There is a real community of teachers, and I really felt supported. If you get a chance to teach there by all means take advantage of it.

With Kanagawa I will hope to bring what I have learned to public school teachers, but also I hope to be an example of someone who can be enthusiastic about teaching. Interesting things are falling into place and I hope I can make a worthwhile contribution.

4 thoughts on “The “March” of Time….. and a new academic year “Springs” into action!”

  1. Hope the start had been good. Changing jobs is always full of uncertainties.

    Good luck with public school. There is a lot of room for improvement here but sometimes it can feel like an uphill battle.

    Looking forward to reading about your development in Kanagawa.

    1. Thank you Signature, I will do my best,

      Most of my interests are in methodology, especially related to corpus linguistics and CALL. I will focus on this for the most part but I tend to think a lot before I write so stay tuned for more….

  2. Fantastic blog! Do you have any helpful hints for aspiring writers?

    I’m planning to start my own site soon but I’m a little lost on everything.
    Would you propose starting with a free platform like WordPress or go for a paid option?
    There are so many options out there that I’m totally confused .. Any recommendations? Thanks a lot!

    1. Just go simple, and not get too bogged down with the details. Just keep writing and adding content that you care about and the rest comes into place.
      As for paid or free: It depends on what you want, the premium option gives you a lot of control, but I am quite satisfied with the regular (free) version.

Leave a Reply

