A lovely blog

Hello everybody,
A fellow blogger Chelsea Brown sent me this award a while back, and since I was taken by this simple gesture, I figured I would pass this along. I know it took me a while to get this together, but here it is.

Now according to these rules, I need to describe seven things about myself.
Well, here we go,

  1. I live in Japan.
  2. I love my son, and he is the most precious thing in my life right now.
  3. I teach people, and people teach me. It`s not an easy job, but I think this is a choice that I feel good about. Of all the occupations I considered, this one can let me sleep at night.
  4. I teach English and at the moment I am training teachers in Japan on how to be better English teachers for their students, schools, communities.
  5. I am an artist, and I try to approach the challenges, and problems in my work and life in an intuitive manner.
  6. Also I am a researcher in applied linguistics and corpus linguistics. The concept of data driven learning is very appealing but also very challenging to apply in the classroom.
  7. The one quote that I live by: “In the beginner`s mind there are many possibilities, but in the expert`s mind there are few”- Shunryu Suzuki.

Now my five favorite blogs:

1   corp. ling.stats|Statistics for corpus linguistics= If you want to learn how to use stats this blogger is quite thorough.

http://www3.nufs.ac.jp/~yoshi/teaching.html

2  One page I really enjoy is on Scoop it. and that is by a fellow colleague Marcel at the Kanagawa Institute called Internet Resources for Paper Based EFL which functions as a site for teachers to access tools for creating worksheets, games and other time-saving tips for the language teacher.

Internet Resources for Paper Based EFL

3 Another WordPress page which is devoted to 21st century applications for learning with a particular focus on young learners is

IGameMom.com 

4 If you are interested in criminal justice, CrimeDime is the source. I haven`t seen many posts lately but I hope to read more soon. The info you read about crime, law enforcement, and the prison industrial system in the US, this can be quite an eye opener.

http://crimedime.com/about/

5 And finally I have to give some Linux love to A Psycho Path who writes some excellent advice for those who use Ubuntu like myself. Check out this when you have a chance.

http://sosaysharis.wordpress.com/

So according to the rules those of you who I mentioned try to pass the favor by talking about yourself, and choosing 5 of your favorite blogs. I know we are all (myself included) busy so no pressure here.

Thank you Chelsea for awarding me with this and for everyone`s support.

Leave a Reply

