July 27, 2016 at 07:40AM

Long time no see,

I has been a while. Blogging is something I have neglected lately and it is not so easy to seemlessly integrate my work as a teacher trainer, my Ph.D coursework, and my personal life into the mix. If anyone has the ultimate formula for doing this please comment below.

Most of the time I have used this blog to document my presentations at conferences here in Japan, which is fine for now. The one major personal and professional paradigm shift for me is deciding to get a Ph.D at Temple University. Not an easy decision to make, but after almost two years of coursework I have come to apprecite the wealth of information and community that has come with it. But this is only the beginning, which means clarifying a research agenda, dissertaion proposal, writing, and the defence. How does one keep going? One piece of advice I got is passion. Without passion for something that genuinely interests you, there can be no moving forward. I couldn’t agree more with this.
I will keep you posted on how far passion has taken me.
via Do Note http://ift.tt/2afeFBv

2 thoughts on “July 27, 2016 at 07:40AM”

  1. Hi Future Dr. Peter! You made the right decision! Yes, passion (emotion/heart – have fun doing this) – the other parts are can-do determination (positive attitude/sprit/mind) and endurance (physical balance/body – work out, get sleep, take some breaks so you don’t burn out – this is like the Olympics). And prayer helped me too : ) Hang in there buddy, you won’t regret your journey and Dr. is something no one can ever take away from you – Let me know if I can help in any way! #TempleMade

    1. Thank you Doug for the pep talk. It is nice to know how that someone knows how it is to experience this. Yes if I do have any questions I will be sure to let you know.

Leave a Reply

